# The Offords WI Annual Meeting Held in the Village Hall Tuesday 12 December 2017

Welcome: The President welcomed members, Debbie Gillbanks, a visitor and Phyllis Brooks, advisor

# THE ANNUAL MEETING TUESDAY 12 DECEMBER 2017

The Minutes of the previous Annual Meeting were read, agreed by members and signed.

**The Bylaw** was read as follows: 'There shall be no limit to the number of visits a non-member may make to our meetings'

New Bylaws were agreed:

The visitor's charge to be increased annually to be more than 1 x 11<sup>th</sup> of the annual subs paid by members. Amount to be agreed each year, 2018 to be £4 + raffle

President to stand only for two years (+ one further year if necessary)

These Byelaws were proposed by Carol Temple, seconded by Carol Gibbins and approved

### Nominations for the Committee

Carol Temple, Helen Bosworth, Jacqueline Wieczorek, Jenny Murby, Margret Pullen, Marion Warden, Marlene Alderman, Talvia Gatward and Wilhelmine Taala were voted on to the Committee

### **Treasurer's Report**

Read by Helen Bosworth. The end of year balance showed a small decrease on last year's figures, which was explained by an increase in expenditure, mainly for cost of speakers but finances were still healthy. Thanks were given to Malcolm Reece for auditing the accounts. It was proposed by Jenny Murby and seconded by Marlene Alderman that Malcolm should continue as Auditor for 2018.

It was agreed that the Deposit Account should be closed and the money be transferred to the current account as the interest paid was only pennies each year.

Helen proposed adoption of the financial statement which was seconded by Jacqueline Wieczorek and all were in favour

It was also agreed that at next year's Annual meeting it should be proposed that the Bank Account should be changed from Santander

#### **Committee Report**

Read by Secretary, Margaret Pullen, summarising the events of 2017 within our WI. She thanked the Committee, and the President for all the new skills learned and for the interesting topics and the fun had in 2017

# **President's Address**

Carol Temple thanked all the members and Committee for their help and support throughout the year. Having been President for 8 years she was stepping down to become correspondence secretary. Two new members had been welcomed this year, Wilhelmine Taala and Helen Ellis. Finally, sincere thanks were given to John Gatward for always being there to set up and clear away on meeting nights.

Carol then proposed adoption of the annual report

#### **Election of President**

Ballot papers were circulated and several committee members were nominated for President. Advisor, Phyllis Brooks, asked all those nominated if they wished to stand and Jenny Murby was subsequently elected as President for the coming year